Behind the Scenes: A Time to Die by Nadine Brandes

Good evening, everyone:

Exciting news! Nadine is offering a free sample of the first chapter of her debut novel, A Time to Die! Click here to access this special opportunity!

Don’t forget to pre-order A Time to Die before it’s release date on September 23!

A Time to DieAs part of her book launch, Nadine is taking part in a blog tour featuring interviews and book reviews.

Tonight I will post my review of Nadine Brandes debut novel, A Time to Die. To celebrate the release of her novel, Nadine is making two appearances on my blog to share her thoughts on her writing process, the story behind A Time to Die, and future projects! I met Nadine about two months through the ACFW and have truly enjoyed getting to know her. I know you all will enjoy meeting her just as much as I have!

In our first session, Nadine will discuss her debut novel: her inspiration behind the story, the making of her characters and their names, and the creative process behind A Time to Die. Welcome, Nadine!


 

1) How did you decide upon the title of A Time to Die?

I got it from Ecclesiastes chapter three – I’m sure we’ve all heard the “time” passage (The Byrds song, anyone?). All the titles for the Out of Time series come from this passage because Ecclesiastes inspired a lot of thought behind this series.

2) How important are names to you in your books? Do you choose the names of character in A Time to Die based on liking the way it sounds or the meaning? Do you have any name choosing resources you recommend?

Almost all of them have hidden meanings. There are some that are just slapped on because they sounded nice, but when I need to pick a name for a character I start digging in to different languages and the dictionary and such. It’s a lot of fun. Parvin’s name, however, came completely unconventionally. I saw it on a street sign. A street sign, for goodness’ sake! I argued with God a long time about finding her name on a street sign because I wasn’t sure what it meant. But then I went home and looked up some things. I’m being secretive about it all because book 2 gets into the meanings behind her name so I won’t expound right now…but it’s perfect.

3) Are any experiences in A Time to Die based on personal experiences? Did you draw upon any stories or movies for inspiration for the novel?

Every book is autobiographical in some way. Many of the questions Parvin asks herself like, “What is my purpose in life?” are drawn from questions I asked myself at one time.

4) If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in A Time to Die?

The only thing I’d change is to try and write the second book before pitching A Time to Die to a publisher. Because now that I’m in book two, I want to incorporate a little more culture into book one, but it’s too late. Still, I love how it’s turned out.

5) What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Conveying the passion and messages I feel inside me through the pages. I always know what I want the story to convey, but that doesn’t mean it will happen.

6) Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Not to take time for granted. I view the span of my life very differently after writing this book.

9) Did you have to travel much for research for A Time to Die?

Have to? No. But I love traveling almost as much as writing. (If I get to write while traveling, then that’s even better!) So I road tripped with hubby a lot to get some good descriptions. While writing book two, I get to travel a bit more and I’m very excited.

10) Who was your favorite character in A Time to Die?

Parvin of course! 😉 After that, probably Jude…once I learned to like him. I didn’t like his character at all when I first wrote him (*gasp*) but then I polished him up and he became a favorite.


 

The-Wall-with-text-1024x686About the Book

Parvin Blackwater believes she has wasted her life. At only seventeen, she has one year left according to the Clock by her bedside. In a last-ditch effort to make a difference, she tries to rescue Radicals from the government’s crooked justice system. But when the authorities find out about her illegal activity, they cast her through the Wall — her people’s death sentence. What she finds on the other side about the world, about eternity, and about herself changes Parvin forever and might just save her people. But her Clock is running out.

Find A Time to Die at the following links:

Amazon

Goodreads

Pintrest

 


Nadine Brandes - Head ShotAbout the Author

Nadine is a stay-at-home mother and author who writes stories about authentic faith, bold living, and worlds soaked in imagination. She has a Bachelor’s degree in communications disorders and a Master’s degree in speech language pathology and audiology. When she is not writing, she is a freelance editor.  Nadine is a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers association, The Christian PEN Network, the Bestseller’s Society, and is the sole reviewer for a Christian book review site geared for teens and young adults. She lives with her husband and children in Idaho.

A Time to Die is her first novel. Visit Nadine at www.nadinebrandes.com

4 thoughts on “Behind the Scenes: A Time to Die by Nadine Brandes

  1. Nadine, I love that you found Parvin’s name on a street sign! Inspiration from all places, right? Funny that you mention it, because I was out driving the other day and found a Parvin road. Almost stopped to grab a picture. Now I wish I had! 🙂

Leave a Reply

