Behind the Scenes: Nadine Brandes’ Writing

Good evening, everyone:

A Time to Die is now available! Don’t forget to order Nadine’s book to support one of our new authors!

A Time to DieAs part of her book launch, Nadine is taking part in a blog tour featuring interviews and book reviews.

Two nights ago I posted my review of Nadine Brandes debut novel, A Time to Die. To celebrate the release of her novel, Nadine is making two appearances on my blog to share her thoughts on her writing process, the story behind A Time to Die, and future projects! I met Nadine about two months through the ACFW and have truly enjoyed getting to know her. I know you all will enjoy meeting her just as much as I have!

In our second session, Nadine will discuss her writing background, her inspirations, advice for writers, and more. Welcome, Nadine!


1) Have you always like to write?

Hello! Thank you for having me. Yes, I’ve always loved writing. Ever since I was old enough to know what paper was, I’ve been in love with words. 🙂 It helped that I learned how to write with a fountain pen in kindergarten. If you’ve never used a fountain pen, you should try it.

2) What inspired you to write your first book?

I adored fantasy, but had a hard time finding it on the Christian shelves. And there’s only so many times I could read the Narnia chronicles. Today, it’s a different story, but back then – when I was about thirteen – I thought, “I’m going to write the book I’m always looking for!” So I did, and I loved it. But now that I know more about writing and I look back at that awful book, well…let me just say that the world will never see it. Ever. 😉

4) Just as your books inspire authors, what authors have inspired you to write?

J.K. Rowling is top on the list. The Harry Potter books really shaped my love for imagination and gave me a lot of hope during those “friendless” times of school. Also, Francine Rivers – she showed me what strong, spiritually-inspiring Christian fiction looks like.

8) Is there a certain type of scene that’s harder for you to write than others? Love? Action?

Traveling scenes. Ugh! I’d much rather just plop my characters on a bus and get them where they need to be. Writing a traveling scene in my book (where most of the traveling is through walking) is like writing about cats – they walk, sleep, and eat. Over and over and over.

9) What is your least favorite part of the publishing / writing process?

Haven’t found one yet! I guess maybe waiting for an edit to come back. No matter how much I tell myself that red pen is good for me, I still get queasy and anxious waiting for the feedback.

11) What writing advice do you have for other aspiring authors?

A)Go to a writers’ conference! This will grow all writers leaps and bounds.

B)Teach yourself. Don’t rely on your freelance editors, critique group, or fellow authors to teach you everything you need. Watch what they do, apply it. Learn it. Perfect your craft.

12) Excellent advice, Nadine. Thanks! Do you read your reviews? Do you respond to them, good or bad? Do you have any advice on how to deal with the bad?

Well, since the book is just starting out, I haven’t received bad reviews yet. But I have a plan. I read the good ones, hubby reads the bad ones and then tells me anything constructive that can be found from them. 🙂 We’ll see if I stick with this plan. My curiosity will probably get the better of me.

13) If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Jeff Gerke, the founder of Marcher Lord Press (now Enclave Publishing.) He didn’t mentor me personally, but his workshops from writers’ conferences and the 15-minute appointments I had with him always left me with more knowledge, more drive, more encouragement to apply to my writing. And his how-to books are fantastic.

14) What book are you reading now?

Unbound, by JB Simmons

The Rise of the Machines, by Kristen Lamb

Persecuted, by Angie Brashear

15) If you didn’t like writing books, what would you do for a living?

Don’t speak of such things! 😉

16) What are you working on now? What is your next project?

Book two of the Out of Time Series. Almost done with it, too! Can’t wait to share it with everyone, but I suppose book one should release first, shouldn’t it. [grin] After the Out of Time Series I have a portal fantasy I’ve been dying to write.

17) Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Let books change you. Don’t just read them for escape from reality, allow them to help shape your reality. Let them grow who you are and strive to be the good qualities you love in a book.

 

Thank you for having me!


 

The-Wall-with-text-1024x686About the Book

Parvin Blackwater believes she has wasted her life. At only seventeen, she has one year left according to the Clock by her bedside. In a last-ditch effort to make a difference, she tries to rescue Radicals from the government’s crooked justice system. But when the authorities find out about her illegal activity, they cast her through the Wall — her people’s death sentence. What she finds on the other side about the world, about eternity, and about herself changes Parvin forever and might just save her people. But her Clock is running out.

Find A Time to Die at the following links:

Amazon

Goodreads

Pintrest

 


Nadine Brandes - Head ShotAbout the Author

Nadine is a stay-at-home mother and author who writes stories about authentic faith, bold living, and worlds soaked in imagination. She has a Bachelor’s degree in communications disorders and a Master’s degree in speech language pathology and audiology. When she is not writing, she is a freelance editor.  Nadine is a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers association, The Christian PEN Network, the Bestseller’s Society, and is the sole reviewer for a Christian book review site geared for teens and young adults. She lives with her husband and children in Idaho.

A Time to Die is her first novel. Visit Nadine at www.nadinebrandes.com

One thought on “Behind the Scenes: Nadine Brandes’ Writing

Leave a Reply

