Behind the Scenes: Letters From Grace by Rachel Muller

Good evening, everyone:

Rachel Muller_HeadshotAs part of her book launch, Rachel Muller is taking part in a blog tour featuring interviews and book reviews.

Early in September I posted my review of Rachel’s debut novel, Letters from Grace. To celebrate the release of her novel, Rachel is making three appearances on my blog to share her thoughts on her writing process, the story behind Letters From Grace, and future projects!

In our first session, Rachel will discuss her debut novel: her inspiration behind the story, the research that went into the historical aspects of the novel, and the creative process behind Letters From Grace. Welcome, Rachel!


1) How did you decide upon the title of Letters from Grace?

Ah, this one came easy. Because the premise of the book revolves around letters, it was only natural ‘letters’ became part of the title. After surfing the web a bit and reading similar titles, I decided Letters from Grace had a nice ring to it. I confirmed the sound of it by releasing the title on social media and reading the comments.

2) Are any experiences in Letters from Grace based on personal experiences? Did you draw upon any stories or movies for inspiration for the novel?

In fact, it is! Thirteen years ago I became pen pals with an Army soldier. We wrote back and forth for almost a full year. I had the wonderful privilege of meeting him a little over a year after our first letters were exchanged. No, it wasn’t love, but we were friends. Secondly, my hero’s (Luke Brady) story was taken from true life accounts during D-Day. My husband’s grandfather stormed Omaha Beach in 1944. His stories were passed down to his children, who later told me about the images, smells, and especially the ride over the English Channel in the Higgins boats.

3) What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Gathering the research. My biggest fear is I missed something historically. I worked nearly 1 ½ years on gathering the information.

4) Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

It’s not as easy as it seems. Writing is a true craft, just like anything else in life, you have to learn and be ready to change things.

5) If you could cast your characters in the Hollywood adaptation of your book, who would play your characters?

I would be lying if I said I hadn’t thought about it, because in reality I have! I would love to see Nicole Kidman cast as Grace Campbell (because the actress resembles Grace Kelly’s features), and quite possibly Andrew Walker as Luke’s character.

6) What was it like coming back to Grace and Luke for the 2nd novel in the series? Do you foresee any more stories for this family of characters?

The second installment, Maggie’s Mission, is already underway. Coming back to the 2nd novel and writing out Grace and Luke’s continuing story as supporting characters makes me smile. I love how their love story ended and I look forward to seeing where they end up at the closing of the third book. For now, Grace’s best friend, Maggie Johnson, takes the spotlight and learns to deal with physical and emotional healing.

7) Who was your favorite character in Letters from Grace?

Ooh, I hate playing favorites, but I couldn’t help but get drawn into Luke Brady’s character the most.


 

Letters from GraceAbout the Book

Can she risk losing her heart and the man she loves…again?

Scarred from the death of her fiancé in World War II, Grace Campbell must learn to love again. Lieutenant Luke Brady could make falling in love easy…except he’s going to war. Only one thing will keep a delicate thread tied between—letters. But the suave Dr. William Keller enchants Grace with his charm and proposes marriage. She must choose between them. Will she settle for comfort and safety or risk losing her true love on the Normandy beaches?

Find Letters From Grace at the following links:

 

Amazon

Goodreads

Barnes and Noble

 


rachel mullerAbout the Author (taken from author’s website)

In late August of 2011 I awoke to a marvelous premise for a book. Whether that idea came from a dream or not I don’t recall, but I pulled out my stack of college ruled line paper and began penning down the words that would later become my first finished work.

My love for World War II history began in my senior year of high school when I chose the Pearl Harbor attack as my research paper topic. Subsequently, the movie Pearl Harbor hit the silver screen and I jumped at the chance to see it. I didn’t realize it at the time but a seedling had been planted in my life, slowly growing inch by inch for nearly ten years

I researched the war, the people, the fashions, 40’s slang, even the makes and models of vintage vehicles to create a nostalgic feel in my project. Then fictional lives began to evolve on the white of my paper.

Letters From Grace is Rachel’s first novel. Visit Rachel at www.racheldmuller.com

She can also be reached at the following social media sites:

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Pintrest

 

Leave a Reply

