Behind the Scenes: The Joys and Hardships of a Writer’s Life

Good evening, everyone:

hannah 2Exciting news! The Wounded Warrior’s Wife is now available for purchase as an e-book!

As part of her book launch, Hannah is taking part in a blog tour featuring interviews and book reviews.

A few week’s ago I posted my review of Hannah’s debut novel, The Wounded Warrior’s Wife. To celebrate the release of her novel, Hannah is making three appearances on my blog to share her thoughts on her writing process, the story behind The Wounded Warrior’s Wife, and future projects! I recently met Hannah in person at the ACFW conference in St. Louis. She is just as loveable and wonderful in person as she is through her social media sites.  I know you all will enjoy meeting her just as much as I have!

Hannah is offering a number of great prizes throughout her blog tour book launch! If you want to win an e-copy of The Wounded Warrior’s Wife or any other of Hannah’s giveaway prizes, make sure to read these interviews, comment on my post, like my page, and leave your contact information below (your name and your email address *follow this format* [your address [at] company [dot] com]). Other prizes aside from the book include $10 Amazon gift cards, groove passes (photos!), and super-fabulous grand-prize in mid-November! Enter as many times as you’d like from the various sites Hannah will be visiting during her blog tour (full list available on her website).

In our second session, Hannah discusses her inspirations, writing, processes, and the challenges and joys of being an author. Welcome back, Hannah! We’re so pleased to have you again on A Way With Words.


www

1) What inspired you to write your first book?

I was inspired to write The Wounded Warrior’s Wife while struggling alongside my husband as he battled with PTSD (post traumatic stress disorder) and TBI (traumatic brain injury) from war-related injuries. Those years of our lives were the most trying and I have to admit there were times I wasn’t sure if we were going to make it. It was God who got us through and gave us a ministry to help others struggling with unseen wounds.

2) Do you have a specific writing style?

Hmm. Specific? I wouldn’t say that. I try to keep it simple, paint pictures with words as best as possible, and draw the reader into the story. If I can do that, then I’m happy with whatever writing style that is. 🙂

3) What does your writing process look like?

Ha! It’s a long one. A lot like giving birth! The process, for me, isn’t as pretty as I thought it would be. I look a mess when I write. I have papers, books, and notes all around me. Gotta have my glass mason jar full of water and lemon by my side. My hair is crazy. At some point while writing I usually have to get up and go for a walk. Since I’m a Stay at Home Momma, it’s difficult to always carve out the time to write with my youngest needing a lot of my attention. Often I would wake up before the kids around 5am and write until they woke up. I pick a few nights a week and write from the kids’ bedtime until close to midnight. On a Saturday here and there my hubby would watch the kiddos while I hid somewhere to write. So it really is a long and crazy process.

4) Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Taking the time to describe or show the reader what I’m saying instead of simply telling them. It’s worth the effort, but goodness, sometimes it can be challenging.

5) Is there a certain type of scene that’s harder for you to write than others? Love? Action?

I’m not sure if there is a certain type of scene that’s harder for me to write, but all of them can prove challenging. When I write I put myself in my character’s place in order to feel what they would feel and it can be emotionally draining. Several times I’ve had to stop writing and get a tissue to dry my eyes and blow my nose! Ha!

6) What is your least favorite part of the publishing / writing process?

For publishing I’d have to say the endless edits, but at the same time, I know editing only helps me to grow as a writer. Regarding the writing process, I would have to say my least favorite part would be how emotionally attached I get to my characters. No kidding, I sometimes forget they are fictional characters! I may need counseling soon!

7) Do you have a favorite writing conference to attend? What is it?

Yes! My favorite writer’s conference is the ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) Conference. The whole “as iron sharpens iron so one man sharpens another” Bible verse comes to mind with I think about the ACFW. They train, equip, and encourage writers to spread God’s love across the globe. LOVE them!


www 1About the Book

Battles Raging Within Are The Ones You Must Fight To Win

WHITLEIGH CROMWELL dreamt of a happy life with her newlywed husband. Army Private First Class COLLIER CROMWELL loved God, his wife, and his country, though the military demanded he pay a high cost.

When an unexpected deployment during the height of war sends Collier away for another year, their lives tumble down a path marked with struggle, and fatalities. War weary, and faith crippled, Collier brings home a war of another kind leaving Whitleigh staring at the shattered pieces of their broken marriage.

Are there wounds too deep, and marriages too broken that they’re beyond even God’s ability to restore?

 

Find The Wounded Warrior’s Wife at the following links:

Amazon

Goodreads

Pintrest

 


Hannah ConwayAbout the Author

Hannah Conway is the author of The Wounded Warrior’s Wife and Wedding the Warrior. She is an Army wife of more than a decade, mother of two, writer and speaker. A Kentucky native, Hannah lives near Fort Campbell where she and her family are currently stationed.  She holds a BA in History from the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs and is active in ministry, Mothers of Preschoolers (MOPS), as well as the American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW), and My Book Therapy (MBT).

When she isn’t writing, you’ll find Hannah volunteering for community service projects, jogging (slowly), neck deep in Pinterest crafts, or browsing thrift stores. The most important thing about Hannah, is that she’s a follower of Christ. It’s her prayer that readers will come to know just how much God loves us through her writings.

Find Hannah at the following links:

Email:             authorhannahconway@gmail.com

Web:               www.hannahrconway.com

Twitter:          www.twitter.com/hannahrconway                 #thewoundedwarriorswife

Facebook:      www.facebook.com/authorhannahconway

Pinterest:        www.pinterest.com/hannahrconway

Goodreads:    www.goodreads.com/authorhannahconway

Leave a Reply

