Book Review: In Good Company by Jen Turano

In-Good-Company-cover-final

ABOUT THE BOOK:

After spending her childhood in an orphanage, Millie Longfellow is determined to become the best nanny the East Coast has ever seen. Unfortunately, her enthusiasm for her job tends to bring about situations that have employers looking askance at her methods. After her most recent dismissal, Millie is forced to return yet again to an employment agency.

Everett Mulberry has suddenly and quite unexpectedly found himself responsible for three children he barely knows. Attempting fatherhood while also pacifying the less-than-thrilled socialite he intends to marry is made even more complicated when the children scare off every nanny he hires. About to depart for Newport, Rhode Island, for the summer, he’s desperate for competent childcare.

At wit’s end with both Millie and Everett, the employment agency gives them one last chance—with each other. Everett is wary of Millie’s penchant for disaster, and she’s not entirely keen on another snobby, grumpy employer, but they’re both out of options. As Millie falls in love with her mischievous charges and tries to stay one step ahead of them, Everett is more focused on achieving the coveted status of society’s upper echelons. As he investigates the suspicious circumstances surrounding the children’s parents’ death, will it take the loss of those he loves to learn whose company he truly wants for the rest of his life?

REVIEW:

Jen Turano, comedic authoress extraordinaire, continues the A Class of their Own series with a second romantic comedy that will brighten your days and add a smile to your face. In Good Company is a delightful novel that I highly recommend for all readers of Christian fiction—regardless of preference towards historical or contemporary—because it simply shines with laughter, wit, romance, and faith. Before reading In Good Company I had read only one other of Turano’s books; upon putting down her second novel of 2015, I know now for certain that this author is one whose books will always be on my to-read list.

In Good Company is a blend of the Mary Poppins story with A Sound of Music: full of hilarious shenanigans between precocious children and their unconventional-but-loving nanny, Turano’s story takes readers on a romp through the glitz and glamour of Gilded Age New York and Rhode Island. The beauty of In Good Company, as with all of Turano’s books (gleaned from the one other I’ve read and from what I’ve learned from other readers and reviewers) comes from her ability to create unique situations and characters within realistic scenarios. Many novels, for example, claim a nanny as the heroine of the story. Not many novels, however, have the nanny walk around with a dictionary in her pocket so she may learn to use big words. In Good Company made me laugh aloud numerous times with the unpredictable yet believable circumstances Millie, Everett, and the children found themselves in. Despite the…unusual…aspects Turano used in her novel, each scenario was uniquely funny enough to have happened in real life.

I enjoyed In Good Company quite a lot and am now eager to read the first book in this series, After a Fashion. With hilarious romps that showcase Turano’s ability to write original characters and plots, In Good Company is a perfect blend of humor, faith, and depth. The third book in the series, Playing the Part, will be published in March 2016.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

JenTuranoJen Turano is the critically acclaimed author of The Ladies of Distinction Series, published through Bethany House.  Her novel, A Most Peculiar Circumstance, was chosen by Booklist as a Top Ten Romance for 2013.When Jen’s not writing, she spends her time hiking around Colorado, socializing with friends and family, and taking great pride in watching Dominic, who will soon be off to college, turn into a remarkable young man.  (For readers of A Change of Fortune – Dominic was the inspiration behind little Ben – which is why you won’t be surprised to learn Jen’s been slightly taken aback over the fact Dominic’s turned out so well.)

Visit Jen at her website.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s